Selling Weapons to a Minor
There’s a reason North Carolina imposes a minimum age requirement for purchasing weapons. For starters, most young people lack the responsibility necessary to possess a weapon. Also, according to a report from the Center for Disease Control, more than 40% of suicide deaths among individuals younger than 21 involved a weapon.
Selling or even giving certain weapons to anyone younger than 18 is illegal in North Carolina. Not only will you face prosecution from the state, but possibly the Federal Government. Defending these accusations will require a level of experience and knowledge found at the Coolidge Law Firm.
We will ensure you receive the rights you are entitled to and vow to treat you as a person rather than a criminal. Exercise your right to legal counsel and contact the Coolidge Law Firm today. Call (919) 239-8448 or submit your information in the contact form to schedule a free consultation.
The Coolidge Law Firm defends clients accused of weapons crimes in Wake County areas including Raleigh, Cary, Wake Forest, Garner, Apex and many others.
Penalties for Selling Weapons to a Minor in North Carolina
You can be charged with selling weapons to a minor without actually selling the weapon. Simply offering to sell or giving the weapon is enough to be charged with the crime. The penalties for selling a weapon to a minor will depend on the weapon. It’s a class 1 misdemeanor to sell, offer, or give any of the following weapons to anyone under 18:
- Pistol cartridge
- Brass knuckles
- Bowie knife
- Leaded cane
- Slug shot
A class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by one to 120 days in jail depending on prior convictions. Forfeiture of the proceeds from the sale will also be required upon conviction.
Handguns are more dangerous than the weapons listed above, so selling them to minors is more harshly punished. Selling, offering or giving a handgun to a minor is a class H felony punishable by four to 25 months in prison depending on criminal history. You will also be required to forfeit the proceeds from the sell of the handgun.
Is Selling Weapons to a Minor a Federal Crime?
There are many weapons crimes listed in the United States Code. One of them is the sale of firearms and ammunition to a minor. Violating the United States Code will result in prosecution from the Federal Government. How the crime is charged will depend on the factors of your case. Regardless, though, you will be looking at time in federal prison.
If you are a firearm licensee and you sell a gun or ammunition to anyone under 21, you could be sentenced to up to five years in federal prison. But, if you are not a licensed firearms dealer, you could be punished by up to a year in federal prison for selling, delivering, or transferring a handgun or handgun ammunition to anyone under 18. If you had reason to believe the minor would commit a violent crime with the gun or ammo, then you could be sentenced to up to 10 years in federal prison.
Federal prosecutors are from the nations top agencies such as the FBI and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. These agencies will have more time and resources to devote to a case than state prosecutors. The assistance of the Coolidge Law Firm is imperative if you are under investigation by the Federal Government.
Additional Resources for Selling Weapons to a Minor
Selling or Giving Weapons to Minors | North Carolina General Statutes – Follow the link to read the state statute governing the sale of weapons to minors. You can learn about situations not prosecuted under this section of the law and possible defenses to the crime.
Federal Firearms Laws – View a list of federal crimes involving firearms. Read section X, which governs the sale of guns and ammunition to minors, to learn more about the offense. You can also learn about other federal weapons crimes such as the sale of guns to unlawful persons and the use of guns in a federal drug crime.
Raleigh Weapons Crimes Attorney
Has a mistake been made regarding the transfer of a firearm? Are you being charged with a firearm crime? If so, you should contact the Coolidge Law Firm right away. We understand how frustrating this situation can be, which is why we want to help. Don’t delay. The sooner you contact us, the sooner we can begin building your defense.
The Coolidge Law Firm will never leave you in the dark, and vow to always keep your best interest in mind. Legal representation is imperative, especially when you are up against the federal government. Schedule a time to speak with the Coolidge Law Firm more about your case. Call (919) 239-8448 or submit your information in the online contact form.
The Coolidge Law Firm defends clients accused of weapons crimes in Wake County communities such as Raleigh, Apex, Cary, Garner, and Wake Forest.